Field of interest


SWoPE group focuses on social workers’ policy engagement in Europe. It deals with all the activities undertaken by individual and organised social workers – on the micro, meso and macro level – to promote social and economic justice and to advance the well-being of individuals, families and communities.


Correspondingly, SWoPE group addresses the structural conditions which facilitate, impede and contribute to shaping social workers’ policy practice and the forms that this takes across Europe and in other countries.


Intended to serve as an interdisciplinary and academic/professional forum, the SIG endorses IFSW and IASSW statements on the “political-must-be” of contemporary social work. It will discuss issues and challenges in the realms of social work theory, methodology, practice and education as well as intersect wider social and political questions about democracy, participation, collective action, social policy and welfare.


Coherently with ESWRA goals, SWoPE group seeks to strengthen networks and collaborations between scholars and educators from different parts of Europe (and beyond), as well as at developing research on social workers’ policy engagement.




In addition to activities undertaken within the context of ESWRA Annual Conferences, SWoPE group will act through:


  • Spreading information about events, publications, resources etc. on the SIG topic;
  • Supporting to collective and collaborative research, education and publication projects on the SIG topic (comparative studies, edited volumes, special issues of journals, thematic panels at national and international conferences, summer schools, PhD programs, mentoring initiatives etc.)
  • Other activities co-promoted and co-designed by the SWoPE group members.




Riccardo Guidi, Department of Political Science – University of Pisa


Idit Weiss-Gal, Bob Shapell School of Social Work – Tel Aviv University



SIG members

Riccardo Guidi (Convenor) – University of Pisa (IT)

Idit Weiss (Convenor) – Tel Aviv University (IL)

Annamaria Campanini, University of Milan Bicocca & IASSW President (IT)

Avishai Benish, Hebrew University of Jerusalem (IS)

Ayala Cohen, Hebrew University of Jerusalem (IS)

Ayelet Makaros, Bar-Ilan University (IS)

Francisco Branco, Universidade Católica Portuguesa (PT)

Graeme Simpson, University of Wolverhampton (UK)

Guy Feldman, Tel Aviv University (IS)

Hani Nouman, University of Haifa (IS)

John Gal, Hebrew University of Jerusalem (IS)

Joris De Corte, Ghent University (BE)

Katarina Thoren, Stockholm University (SE)

Michal Krumer-Nevo, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (IS)

Miriam Burzlaff, Freie Universität Berlin (DE)

Roni Strier, University of Haifa (IS)

Sigrid Leitner, University of Applied Sciences Cologne (DE)

Simone Leiber, University of Applied Sciences Düsseldorf (DE)

Talia Meital Schwartz-Tayri, University of California, Berkeley (US)

Ute Klammer, University of Duisburg-Essen (DE)

Vasilios Ioakimidis, University of Essex (UK)

Koen Hermans, KU Leuven (BE)

Tobias Kindler, Eastern Switzerland University of Applied Sciences (CH)